Please, Google, Please!

Dear Google,

I love Suggesting mode on Google Drive.

And, I love Commenting mode as well.

But, please, please, divide these two mode into two separate settings. PLEASE!

Suggesting mode is great. It allows students, parents, teachers, or other guests to add their input directly into a document, and the owner of the document can choose to add those suggesting exactly as typed or not. I love the potential for this with word choice and writing conventions most of all.

Comments are great too. Comments on the side of a document can help develop meaningful conversations. These conversations can help kids focus improvement in their writing and further discussions after presentations.

However, combining these two modes is a terrible idea. Please fix it! Here are two situations that show the value of splitting these modes.

My students recently finished a fiction story unit. I put all their documents together in a Google Drive file and then shared that link with parents. I would have love to allow parents to comment on their students’ files, but I do not want them editing the file using the suggesting mode. Instead, I had to limit them to viewing only.

– My students’ next project will be an expository Google Presentation. When each group presents, we share out our file so everyone in the audience can follow along on their devices at their seats. Last year, the students were able to comment on each presentation when it was over. However, this year, I can’t do that because I don’t want any audience member’s suggestions popping up on the screen during the presentation.

So, Google, please separate these two great tools into separate modes. I’ll buy you a doughnut if you do.

About mrwhitehb

I teach 4th grade and am the chair of the Young Hoosier Book Award Committee for grades 4-6.

Posted on November 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

