What Really Matters?

I found out today that the brother of one of my students died last Wednesday. She hasn’t been at school but is going to try to come tomorrow.

An absolute tragedy. Words can’t describe it.

After learning about this early in the morning, I had to continue on my day of teaching. A day filled with test-preparation practice and exercises in anticipation of next week’s standardized testing.

But suddenly…none of it seemed to matter.

Reading the questions first didn’t matter. Eliminating wrong answer choices didn’t matter. Looking back in the text didn’t matter.

The district’s social worker came to speak to my class about what to do and what not to do when she returns tomorrow, and after that, we seemed to just be going through the motions of school. I taught the strategies, and the students did what they were told. But it didn’t feel right. It didn’t feel right that we were answering questions about verb tenses while one of our own was watching her world crumble around her. The problems of school seemed insignificant.

I want to end this by telling what I have discovered I should do tomorrow or what I have discovered about life and death. But I can’t…because it’s all so hard. I hope I do the right thing. I hope I can help.

About mrwhitehb

I teach 4th grade and am the chair of the Young Hoosier Book Award Committee for grades 4-6.

Posted on April 21, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

