I Don’t Know How To Do It…But I’m Going To Do It Anyway

I thought about starting a Maker Club in my school last year. I figured it would be interesting to get a group of kids together to make stuff.

So, like a good student, I did some research about how to start a club. What I found was a wide variety of different resources, most of which completely overwhelmed me. Every website had some kind of material I didn’t have or some technology tool I couldn’t access. Many of them had entire rooms called Maker Spaces, while my school has portable classrooms parked behind our school to help with overcrowding.

Learning more about Maker Clubs made me not want to start one. I was completely swamped with information. I gave up.

This year, however, I’m going for it. I don’t have any idea what this club is going to be. It might be amazing, the beginnings of an annual enjoyment. It might be a complete flop; my twenty brave volunteers might show up for the first meeting…and then never come again. But I’m going to find out.

download

I’ve decided that during each meeting, we’re going to explore something new. There aren’t going to be many directions, mainly because I don’t know what I would say. Instead, I’m going to give the kids the freedom to explore, many mistakes, and try new things. In effect, they’re going to do the same thing I’m doing with the club — try it out and see what works.

Maybe we should be doing this more with kids every day during the school year. Struggling and then finding ways to overcome the struggle will be something they do for the rest of their lives. Most tasks they face in a real job will be ones they’ve never seen before.

After all, that’s the process I’m going through right now. Tomorrow is our first meeting; wish me luck!

 

About mrwhitehb

I teach 4th grade and am the chair of the Young Hoosier Book Award Committee for grades 4-6.

Posted on September 28, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

